# Franklin Township Sewerage Authority

# **Minutes of Meeting**

# March 5, 2024

# **PRESENT**

Chairwoman Ford (by video) called the Monthly Meeting of the Township of Franklin Sewerage Authority to order at 6:37 PM. The following Commissioners were also present (all by video): Mr. Anbarasan, Ms. Davenport, Mr. Farooqi, Ms. Francois and Mr. Schmidt. Also in attendance were Joseph Danielsen, Executive Director / Special Project Manager (in person), Dr. Apryl L. Roach, Administrative Manager / Chief Human Resources Officer (in person); Scott Nocero, Operations Manager (by video); Brian Hak, Esq., General Counsel (by video); William Korosec and Howard Matteson, Consulting Engineers (all by video).

# **OATH OF OFFICE** – Administered by Brian Hak, Esq.

Vanessa Davenport – Alternate #2

Kimberly Francois - Commissioner

#### **ROLL CALL**

Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	Aye
Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye
Ms. Francois	-	Aye
Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)	-	Absent
Mr. Schmidt	-	Aye
Chairwoman Ford	-	Aye

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

# **CHAIRPERSON'S STATEMENT:**

Chairwoman Ford stated that, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 231 of the Public Laws of 1975 (Open Public Meetings Act) and Chapter 11 of the Public Laws of 2020, all requirements had been met to allow for the electronic meeting of the Board.

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

Ms. Francois moved to open the meeting for Public Comments, seconded by Mr. Anbarasan.

The members voted as follows:

VOTE:	Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
	Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	
	Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye
	Ms. Francois	-	Aye
	Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)	-	Absent
	Mr. Schmidt	-	Aye
	Chairwoman Ford	-	Aye

Mr. Schmidt moved to close the meeting for Public Comments, seconded by Ms. Francois

The members voted as follows:

VOTE:	Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
	Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	
	Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye
	Ms. Francois	-	Aye
	Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)	-	Absent
	Mr. Schmidt	-	Aye
	Chairwoman Ford	-	Aye

# **REVIEW OF THE BOARD MEETING MINUTES – March 5, 2024**

# **RE-ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING – February 6, 2024**

Chairwoman Ford asked if there were any questions or concerns regarding the meeting minutes from the February 6, 2024 Re-Organizational Board Meeting.

Mr. Schmidt made a motion to accept the February 6, 2024 Re-Organizational Board Meeting minutes, seconded by Mr. Anbarasan.

The members voted as follows:

VOTE:	Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
	Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	
	Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye
	Ms. Francois	-	Aye
	Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)	-	Absent
	Mr. Schmidt	-	Aye
	Chairwoman Ford	-	Aye

# **REGULAR MONTHLY BOARD MEETING – February 6, 2024**

Chairwoman Ford asked if there were any questions or concerns regarding the meeting minutes from the February 6, 2024 Regular Board Meeting.

Mr. Anbarasan made a motion to accept the February 6, 2024 Board Meeting minutes, seconded by Mr. Schmidt.

The members voted as follows:

VOTE:	Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
	Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	-
	Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye
	Ms. Francois	-	Aye
	Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)	-	Absent
	Mr. Schmidt	-	Aye
	Chairwoman Ford	-	Aye

# **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY** – PROFESSIONAL REPORTS

Presented by: Joseph Danielsen, Executive Director / Special Project Manager

**Consulting Engineer Report -** CME **Consulting Engineer Report -** CDM **General Counsel Report -** Eric M. Bernstein, Esq.

# **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR SUMMARY**

Presented By: Joseph Danielsen, Executive Director / Special Project Manager

**Operations Report -** Scott Nocero **Connections Report –** CME Consulting Engineers **Special Projects Report –** Joseph Danielsen

# **COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

**NEGOTIATIONS / PERSONNEL COMMITTEE** No Report.

MUNICIPAL LIAISON COMMITTEE No Report.

**CONSTRUCTION COMMITTEE** No Report.

SAFETY COMMITTEE No Report.

#### **APPROVAL OF RESOLUTIONS**

The approval of some of the Resolutions will be done by the Consent Agenda. Chairwoman Ford said that all the items listed below are considered to be of a routine nature, thereby requiring one (1) motion and one (1) second for all items.

If any member wishes to remove an item from the Consent Agenda, please advise the Chairwoman at this time as to which resolution(s) need to be handled separately and they will be addressed and voted on separately.

Resolution Number 03052024 - 1	Payroll Account \$ 167,402.22
Resolution Number 03052024 - 2	<b>Operating Expense Account \$ 2,481,886.54</b>
Resolution Number 03052024 – 3	General Fund Expense Account \$ 621,401.51
Resolution Number 03052024 - 4	Renewal and Replacement \$ 130,770.31
Resolution Number 03052024 - 5	Escrow Fund Account \$ 19,161.00

Mr. Schmidt made a motion, seconded by Ms. Francois.

The members voted as follows:

VOTE:	Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
	Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	-
	Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye
	Ms. Francois	-	Aye
	Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)	-	Absent
	Mr. Schmidt	-	Aye
	Chairwoman Ford	-	Aye

```
~ 4 ~
```

#### AND ADDITIONAL RESOLUTION(S): MOTION FOR EACH ONE

**Resolution Number 03052024 – 6** 

# RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTION OF A CAPACITY ALLOCATION AND DEVELOPER'S AGREEMENT WITH THE DEVELOPER OF REAL PROPERTY DESIGNATED AS BLOCK 502.01, LOT 47.02 ON THE OFFICIAL TAX MAP OF FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP, SOMERSET COUNTY, NEW JERSEY

MOVER: Ms. Francois SECONDER: Mr. Anbarasan AYES: All present NAYS: ABSENT: Mr. Kovacs ABSTAIN:

1. Resolution Number 03052024 – 7

**RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE ANNUAL AUDIT FOR FISCAL YEAR 2022-**2023

MOVER: Mr. Schmidt SECONDER: Mr. Anbarasan

AYES: All present NAYS: ABSENT: Mr. Kovacs ABSTAIN:

2. Resolution Number 03052024 -8

# **RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE RENEWAL OF AN AGREEMENT WITH PRIVATIZER TECHNOLOGIES, LLC**

MOVER: Ms. Francois SECONDER: Mr. Schmidt

AYES: All Present NAYS: ABSENT: Mr. Kovacs ABSTAIN:

~ 5 ~

3. Resolution Number 03052024 – 9

# **RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTION OF A UTILITY AGREEMENT WITH THE NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION**

MOVER: Mr. Schmidt SECONDER: Mr. Anbarasan

AYES: All present NAYS: ABSENT: Mr. Kovacs ABSTAIN:

4. Resolution Number 03052024 – 10

# **RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE AWARD OF A CONTRACT WITH SOVEREIGN CONSULTING INC. FOR THE SOMERSET STREET PUMPING STATION REHABILITATION PROJECT**

MOVER: Mr. Anbarasan SECONDER: Mr. Schmidt

AYES: All present NAYS: ABSENT: Mr. Kovacs ABSTAIN:

#### **EXECUTIVE CLOSED SESSION**

N/A

Mr. Schmidt made a motion to adjourn at 7:18 PM seconded by Mr. Anbarasan.

The members voted as follows:

VOTE:	Mr. Anbarasan	-	Aye
	Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)	-	
	Mr. Farooqi	-	Aye

Ms. Francois-AyeMr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)-AbsentMr. Schmidt-AyeChairwoman Ford-Aye

Respectfully submitted,

Apryl L. Roach

Dr. Apryl L. Roach, MBA, MSHRM, SHRM-CP, PHR, SHRM-CP, Q.P.A., R.P.P.S. Administrative Manager / Chief Human Resources Officer