Franklin Township Sewerage Authority

Minutes of Meeting

August 6, 2024

PRESENT

Chairwoman Ford (by video) called the Monthly Meeting of the Township of Franklin Sewerage Authority to order at 6:44 PM. The following Commissioners were also present (all by video): Mr. Anbarasan, Mr. Farooqi, Ms. Francois, Mr. Schmidt, Mr. Kovacs and Ms. Davenport. Also in attendance were Joseph Danielsen, Executive Director / Special Project Manager (in person), Dr. Apryl L. Roach, Administrative Manager / Chief Human Resources Officer (in person); Scott Nocero, Operations Manager (by video); Mr. Brian Hak, Esq., General Counsel (by video); Michael McClellan and Howard Matteson, Consulting Engineers (all by video).

Also in attendance was the Franklin Reporter

ROLL CALL

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye
Mr. Farooqi - Aye
Ms. Francois - Aye
Mr. Schmidt - Absent
Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1) - Aye
Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2) - Aye
Chairwoman Ford - Aye

NOTE: Commissioner Arnold Schmidt joined the meeting at approximately 7:03 PM

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

CHAIRPERSON'S STATEMENT:

Chairwoman Ford stated that, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 231 of the Public Laws of 1975 (Open Public Meetings Act) and Chapter 11 of the Public Laws of 2020, all requirements had been met to allow for the electronic meeting of the Board.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Mr. Schmidt moved to open the meeting for Public Comments, seconded by Mr. Kovacs.

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

Mr. Anbarasan moved to close the meeting for Public Comments, seconded by Ms. Francois.

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye
Mr. Farooqi - Aye
Ms. Francois - Aye
Mr. Schmidt - Aye
Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1) - Aye
Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2) - Aye
Chairwoman Ford - Aye

REVIEW OF THE BOARD MEETING MINUTES – August 6, 2024

REGULAR MONTHLY BOARD MEETING – July 2, 2024

Chairwoman Ford asked if there were any questions or concerns regarding the meeting minutes from the July 2, 2024 Regular Board Meeting.

Mr. Schmidt made a motion to accept the July 2, 2024 Board Meeting minutes, seconded by Mr. Anbarasan.

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY – PROFESSIONAL REPORTS

Presented by: Joseph Danielsen, Executive Director / Special Project Manager

Consulting Engineer Report - CME
Consulting Engineer Report - CDM
General Counsel Report - Eric M. Bernstein, Esq.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR SUMMARY

Presented By: Joseph Danielsen, Executive Director / Special Project Manager

Operations Report - Scott Nocero Connections Report - CME Consulting Engineers Special Projects Report - Joseph Danielsen

The Executive Director provided a comment with regards to the new agenda layout and supportive website links. Commissioner Anbarasan shared favorable comments relative to the same.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

NEGOTIATIONS / PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Commissioner Anbarasan had a meeting with Commissioner Schmidt and the Executive Director to discuss the performance evaluations of his direct reports. The Executive Director made recommendations relative to their salaries. Commissioner Anbarasan said both he and Commissioner Anbarasan concurred.

MUNICIPAL LIAISON COMMITTEE

No Report.

CONSTRUCTION COMMITTEE

No Report.

SAFETY COMMITTEE

Mr. Nocero said a patron of the Authority had come to the Administration Building to pay his bill and pressed his gas instead of the brake of his vehicle and drove into the cement planters in front of the of the building. This caused damage to the window framing. The Authority has opened a claim which is a current work in in progress. is in the of a claim. There were no reported injuries.

APPROVAL OF RESOLUTIONS

The approval of some of the Resolutions will be done by the Consent Agenda. Chairwoman Ford said that all the items listed below are considered to be of a routine nature, thereby requiring one (1) motion and one (1) second for all items.

If any member wishes to remove an item from the Consent Agenda, please advise the Chairwoman at this time as to which resolution(s) need to be handled separately and they will be addressed and voted on separately.

Resolution Number 08062024 - 1 Payroll Account \$ 210,205.80

Resolution Number 08062024 - 2 Operating Expense Account \$ 2,177,132.51

Resolution Number 08062024 - 3 Renewal and Replacement \$ 230,624.00

Resolution Number 08062024 - 4 Escrow Fund Account \$ 12,605.25

Ms. Francois made a motion, seconded by Mr. Anbarasan.

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

AND ADDITIONAL RESOLUTION(S): MOTION FOR EACH ONE

1. Resolution Number 08062024 – 5

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE REMOVAL BILLING ACCOUNT NO. 20236

MOVER: Mr. Kovacs

SECONDER: Mr. Schmidt

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

2. Resolution Number 08062024 – 6

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE BOARD CHAIRPERSON AND BOARD SECRETARY TO EXECUTE AN AGREEMENT WITH SOVEREIGN CONSULTING INC. FOR THE COMMERCE DRIVE PUMP STATION IMPROVEMENTS PROJECT ON BEHALF OF THE FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP SEWERAGE AUTHORITY

MOVER: Mr. Anbarasan SECONDER: Mr. Schmidt

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

3. Resolution Number 08062024 -7

RESOLUTION MODIFYING THE SEWER CONNECTION FEE FOR THE FISCAL YEAR OF JUNE 1, 2024 THROUGH MAY 31, 2025

MOVER: Mr. Kovacs

SECONDER: Ms. Francois

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

4. Resolution Number 08062024 – 8

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTION OF A MUNICIPAL UTILITY ENGINEERING AND CONSTRUCTION AGREEMENT (UECA) WITH THE NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

MOVER: Ms. Francois

SECONDER: Mr. Anbarasan

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

5. Resolution Number 08062024 – 9

RESOLUTION DECLARING AN EMERGENCY PURSUANT TO N.J.S.A. 40A:11-6 and N.J.A.C. 5:34-6.1(a) AND AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO EXECUTE AN EMERGENCY CONTRACT WITH MUNICIPAL MAINTENANCE COMPANY FOR THE REPAIR OF PUMP NO. 2 AT THE WESTON CANAL ROAD PUMP STATION

MOVER: Mr. Schmidt SECONDER: Mr. Kovacs

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

6. Resolution Number 08062024 – 10

RESOLUTION TO ADOPT THE 2024-2025 ANNUAL BUDGET

MOVER: Mr. Anbarasan SECONDER: Ms. Francois

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye
Mr. Farooqi - Aye
Ms. Francois - Aye
Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1) Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

EXECUTIVE CLOSED SESSION

N/A

Mr. Kovacs made a motion to adjourn at 7:44 PM seconded by Mr. Schmidt.

The members voted as follows:

Mr. Anbarasan - Aye Mr. Farooqi - Aye Ms. Francois - Aye Mr. Schmidt - Aye

Mr. Kovacs (Alt. #1)

Ms. Davenport (Alt. #2)

Chairwoman Ford - Aye

Respectfully submitted,

Apryl L. Reach

Dr. Apryl L. Roach, MBA, MSHRM, SHRM-CP, PHR, SHRM-CP, Q.P.A., R.P.P.S.

Administrative Manager / Chief Human Resources Officer